EWHA Portal

Ewha W.UEwha W.U

Open Search
Open Mobile Menu

Ewha W.U

nav bar
Ewha University

College News

Professor Sang Wook Lee Received the Minister’s Commendation Award from MSIT

  • Date2022.06.24
  • 8911

물리학과 이상욱 교수, 과학기술정통부장관 표창 수훈

Professor Sang Wook Lee of the Department of Physics at the College of Natural Sciences received the Minister’s Commendation Award from the Ministry of Science and ICT (MSIT) on June 21 (Tue) for his contribution to science and technology and the enhancement of Ewha’s international status by conducting joint research with leading researchers abroad as well as receiving HFSP Research Grant.

Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) is an international research support program established in 1989 to support multi-disciplinary and international joint research in the field of life science, and is recognized as an innovative research support program worldwide, even known as “Nobel Prize Funding,” generating 28 Nobel Prize winners in total.

Professor Lee is researching “single molecule protein sequencing using nano device” with Chulmin Joo, a professor at Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands and a director of Kavli Institute of Nanoscience Delft. This is a method of analyzing ultra-fine and ultra-precise mass by applying the principle that the vibration cycle of the spring scale depends on the mass of the weight hanging in the spring to nano device, and the research team aims to find a breakthrough in protein sequencing by applying the method to single-molecular protein mass measurement. Professor Lee’s research team published research results of developing nano device using graphene to detect the mass change of about 100 protons at room temperature, and applying machine learning in order to analyze mass change signals more accurately through measurement noise learning.

Professor Lee, who is actively conducting research in nanoelectronic devices and nano electro-mechanical devices, was selected as POSCO Cheongam Science Fellow (2010), Korea’s leading scientist selected by KAST (2012), and Y-KAST member (2017), and won Korean Physical Society’s (KPS) Applied Physics Award (2016). He is now serving as a chief writer of “Current Applied Physics,” and has served as an executive director of KAST (2015-2016), and chairman of the Korea NEMS Research Association (2015-2017), and is active in many international society organizations.